top of page

Shieldwall: A Public Call to Action

It's no secret that our religious symbols (runes, staves, etc.) have been co-opted by both individuals and groups as a means to spread hate. Though these instances only account for a minority of the heathen community, they have, unfortunately, become an increasingly vocal minority. With that vocalization has come attention, both positive and negative. The heathen community is slowly entering the public spotlight, and the misuse of the faith being highlighted by the media means that now more than ever, it's important for us to be just as vocal.

The argument can be made that apathy toward hatred and intolerance is the same as acceptance. Whether or not this is true, it's undeniable that apathy solves nothing. We can watch from the sidelines, but that'll do nothing to stem the tide of hatred.


So what can we do?


It's time to stand up. We need to set aside our petty differences to stand united against adversity. It's time to swallow pride and put the community first. Disputes between groups that share the common goal of helping the heathen community to thrive need to be laid to rest. Labeling, infighting, and finger-pointing are getting us nowhere, while the fires blaze all around us.


It's time we put an end to it.


In 2016, many of us in the heathen community banded together to sign Huginn's Heathen Hof's Declaration 127, a public statement that we did not agree with the AFA's expressed views on race, gender, and sexuality. This was an important step in the right direction and brought many of us in the community together. However, since the signing of Declaration 127, hatred and bigotry have spread like a disease. It's no longer any one organization that we should be worried about. Let's take a closer look at Havamal stanza 127, which Declaration 127 is based on.

"Wherever you know of harm
regard that harm as your own;
give your enemies no peace.
- Havamal 127


This is one of many popular interpretations, but the subtle difference in wording is important. It's no longer enough to see harm and speak out against it. We need to look upon harm being done as if it were being done to us. Humans are naturally empathetic beings, and it's time we started listening to that part of our nature. We're all smaller pieces of a greater whole; any harm done to one is done to all of us.


So where are we going with all of this?


This is a public call to action for ALL members of the heathen community willing to stand against hate and intolerance.


With all the negativity circulating both within and outside of the heathen community, we recognize that people are frustrated, angry, and feeling helpless.

We need to stand together as fellow children of Midgard. Be active, be vocal, show those who abuse our faith that we will not be silenced. We will not stand by while they continue abusing our faith and enforcing negative stereotypes. We will go out in to our communities and be a force for positive change. We will extend a hand of fellowship to all willing to stand together against the tide of hatred. We will form a Shieldwall.


By no means is Shieldwall a singular movement orchestrated entirely by one organization. It's an idea. Like any idea, it's only as powerful as those who believe in it. It's also a tool. Like any tool, it's only as effective as the person using it. For Shieldwall to work, every member must participate. This is a collective international effort, and we cannot micromanage every region. It's up to the heathen community, up to you, to suit action to words. Go out and find others, organize, volunteer, work within your community as the smaller part of a greater whole.


We believe the potential is there, that it only takes a nudge of initiative from an individual to bring people together to create change. We hope to mend the harm that's been done to the heathen community. We will support each other in the hopes that we may give others the strength to stand up and fight. We will link ourselves together and stand strong to hold the line against the darkness. Together, we will strive to create a brighter future for the generations to come.



To summarize the mission statement of Shieldwall:
Shieldwall is an effort to unite the heathen community.

Together we denounce all those abusing our faith to spread hatred and negativity.



By signing on, you're making a statement. A statement that you will not stand for hatred. You will not sit idly by as our cultural and religious symbols are dragged through the mud. You are stating you will go out in to the world and strive to make it a better place. Most importantly, you are stating you're an ally to all who are oppressed or in need.



We encourage other organizations and groups to stand with us.

To register your Kindred, Business, Organization, Page, and/or Group's support for Shieldwall, CLICK HERE!

To register your personal individual support and to join the Shieldwall, CLICK HERE!


Our gods are bigger than our differences.



Kindred, Business, Organization, Page, and/or Group:



 Seth Chagi

Brian Moore 

Alicia C. 

Nathanal T Hart 

Ryan Wells 

Eric Decker 

Samantha Allen 

Austin Zerby 

Andrew Rolfsen 

David Frimel 

Fırat Altınyürek 

Jay McDonald 

Kagan Pittman 

Mike Hurd 
Samantha Lavine 

Aaron Fisher 
Regan E.

Megan Nelson 

Harriet Rankin 

William Stacy 

Kisha Bouchor 

Vincent Panell 

Nicholas Burdick 

Sofi Haga 

Steve Page 

Presten Molder 

Bea P. 

Edward Starkey 

Francisco Delgado Jr 

Dylan Kurtz 

Philip Marcum 

Jay Wood 

Alex Upton 
Marcello Milanezi 

Lorinda Smith 

RuthAnne Isbell 

Graeme C. 

Howard A Cook 

Brian Mette 

Kenneth Jones 

Ken Jones 

Odin miller 

Donavon Martinson 

Adam R. 

Chadwick Umstead 

Sam W. 

Brittany Bernard 
Brian Whited  

Solstice Hannan 

Brittney M. Tate

Emma Humberston
Fred Canales

Xavier Aeichele

Victoria Kolceski

Andrew Larr

David S.

Chris H.

Brenon Bowers

Richard Smothers

Jackie Upchurch

Jordan Waid

Conall Stewart

Andrew Fotheringham

Kristine M.

Bryan Morris

Thomas Bainbridge


Anne P.

William Conner

Shaloy McDaniel

Stephanie C.

Susan Fabian

David Hollingworth

Kenny C.

Gerald del Campo

William Roisendubh

Cassandra Addams

Ciera Hoover

Michael Anderson

Kimberley Neilsen

Tyler Reagan

James Moore

James Carter

Michael Hess

Jules Fish

Chris Moody

Dan Stalley

Julie Gelo

Stephanie Pugh

Geert M.

Max Sisternas

Lia Patterson

Jessie Pye

Jeffrey McAllister

Miguel V.

John Valles

Dominick D.

Brad Arnold

Cord Keller

Kilian VER

Jace Paul

Johannes K.

James Tucker

Jeremiah L.


Ethan B.

Barbara Ann

Ari Haalboom

James S.

Ryan Caniparoli

Austin Stewart

Alexandra Lemieux

Joseph Martyn

Vision L.

Sascha Vandenameele

Tiffany Shandor

Benjamin Jose 

Eric Gartz

Rebecca Kincaid

Clint wright

Pena M.

Cody R.

Jordan Cargill

Makayla Rogers

Ryan Goble

Jeff Ostler

Dale King

Brad Miller

Bjorn Thorson

Katharine Chizmadia

James Radford

Kev Walsh

Paul Rutgersen

Gavin Finley

Scott Bennett

Stephen Leslie

Aaron Elliott

David Sawyer

Rowan Alix Vandenberg